This post has been long overdue. I am grateful that I finally have a moment to write it. Whew!

My birthday was on July 22nd. Last year, I was in nail school, and had to keep my nails bare because in class we worked on each other’s hands. This year, all that I have learned has come full circle.

I decided to do what I like to call CARNIVAL NAILS. It is a glitter acrylic overlay that only needs clear nail polish. The design is laid in the acrylic, and a clear coat seals it. No chipping, and no glitter falling off.

First it starts with choosing the acrylic. I used the EZ Flow brand. They have an array of different glitter sub-categories. I chose from their Boogie Nights Confetti and Boogie Nights Walk of Fame Collection. The colors are Celebrate, I Love a Parade, and Leading Lady.

20140808-211425.jpg

Celebrate is an iridescent hexagonal glitter with a clear base
I Love a Parade is a peachy pink base with tiny flecks of glitter, and mini iridescent hexagonal pieces
Leading Lady is a copper toned pure glitter

20140808-211712.jpg

I chose to do a gradient by using Leading Lady as the base, then adding I Love a Parade over it, and Celebrate over that. I had to make sure to use thin layers. Once the glitter and color elements were placed where I wanted them, I used clear acrylic to seal the design. I let the acrylic harden, and filed the nail. I used Seche Vite for a quick dry high shine coating.

20140808-212048.jpg

I absolutely love this manicure. My nails were very short, and I did the extension technique to lengthen them without the need for tips.

20140808-212427.jpg

So, I went out for my dinner, and one of my lovely friends said “I have something coming in the mail for you”. When it came in the mail, I called her to say “You know me so well”.

I got a BIRCHBOX subscription for 3 months. Woohoo!!!! I have always wanted one, but was so caught up with Julep, that I never signed up.

20140808-212901.jpg

20140808-213305.jpg

20140808-213606.jpg

There are 2 teabags. Organic Green Tea with Mint, and Roobios Chai. I love both of these flavors, so I am excited to see how this “Harney & Sons Fine Teas” brand flavors their tea. I can totally see myself drinking the roobios tea after Bikram Yoga. Well, that is after I stop sweating.

20140808-213637.jpg

Next up, Environmental Repair Plus After Sun Recovery Lotion. This is definitely going into the vacation bag NOW. The sun in Trinidad is ruthless.

20140808-214152.jpg

The next sample is Lumiere d’hiver Super Comb Prep & Protect Spray. Well, this looks like it will become a leave in conditioner to use when I decide to flat iron my hair. We will see how it holds up to my blow-dryer’s heat.

20140808-214440.jpg

Lastly, there is this cute little envelope/pouch to open.

20140808-214545.jpg

Inside, is a mini bottle of Color Club nail polish and a Cynthia Rowley Eyeliner.

20140808-214810.jpg

I am not really fond of the light blue nail polish color, but it could go well as a base for a design, so I am not going to totally knock it. I am thinking I can use it in a water marble design.

As a woman, you can never have too many eyeliners. I like to keep one in my main makeup bag, and have a backup makeup bag just in case the initial makeup bag gets lost, or left at work or a friend’s house. A little lipstick and eyeliner is essential in refining your look, even if your foundation and eyeshadow are hiding somewhere. This may sound extreme to some, but I once left my makeup bag in someone’s trunk, and had to get ready for a party the next day without my essentials. Having backups are a necessity!!!!

Overall, I am happy with my BIRCHBOX. I can find a use for every one of the products in my personal care routine. To Miss E. from CT, I love you for getting me such a lovely gift. I am enjoying these surprises coming in the mail. Thank you so much!

